The Comics Studies Society

Comics Studies Society Prize Past Winners

Charles Hatfield Book Prize

  • 2018: Brannon Costello, Neon Visions: The Comics of Howard Chaykin, LSU Press, 2017
  • 2019: Lara Saguisag, Incorrigibles and Innocents: Constructing Childhood and Citizenship in Progressive Era Comics, Rutgers UP, 2018.

CSS Article Prize

  • 2018: Benoît Crucifix, “Cut-up and Redrawn: Charles Burns’s Swipe Files” published in Inks: The Journal of the Comics Studies Society
  • 2019: André M. Carrington, “Desiring Blackness: A Queer Orientation to Marvel’s Black Panther, 1998–2016,” published in American Literature

Hillary Chute Award for Best Graduate Student Conference Presentation 

  • 2018: Alex Smith, “Breaking Panels: Gay Cartoonists’ Radical Revolt”
  • 2019: Isabelle Martin, “‘The Weight of Their Past’: Reconstructing Memory and History through Reproduced Photographs in Thi Bui’s Graphic Novel The Best We Could Do”

Gilbert Seldes Prize for Public Scholarship 

  • 2019: Osvaldo Oyola
  • Guess Who’s Coming Home for the Holidays: Intergenerational Conflict in Bitch Planet,” The Middle Spaces, Dec. 11, 2018
  • “‘I AM (not) FROM BEYOND!’: Situating Scholarship & the Writing ‘I’”, The Middle Spaces, Dec. 25, 2018 
  • "YA = Young Avengers: Asserting Maturity on the Threshold of Adulthood," The Middle Spaces, Oct. 16, 2018